My Angry Insides

My body hates me.

And I can’t blame it. I don’t treat it as well as I should, and in return, it wreaks its havoc on me.

I’m mainly referring to my insides, though if you know me, you may wonder which part of me is acting up. But this time, I’m specifically talking about my gut. We’ve had a long history of not getting along. It took about 10 years of discomfort and numerous tests to discover my intolerance to lactose. The realization helped, but I haven’t done much to truly live dairy-free. And even when I do avoid all the glory that is dairy, I still manage to end up curled over in pain wondering what else might be at play.

As for research into the matter of nutrition, I’ve done my fair share. To say I’ve read a few books or articles about nutrition would be a gross understatement. Despite all the knowledge I’ve amassed over the years, I still have not managed to make peace with my insides.

Enter Michael Pollan’s book In Defense of Food

This book is the first in a long line of books to actually flip my thinking about what and how I eat. Though it really has little to say about food intolerances, Pollan’s book made such a compelling case that I felt the need to do something about it. His book, coupled with inspiration from the site 100daysofrealfood.com and my co-worker’s recent foray into a sugar-free lifestyle, have motivated me to act.

For the next 100 days, I intend to follow the book’s advice and eat real food – the kind your great-grandmother would recognize.

As part of this project, I will write about my experience, which I know will be a real challenge. I have a track-record of enthusiastically beginning new personal improvement journeys only to later let them fade as I concoct a new, more exciting project doomed to repeat the same fate.

And so, I am publicly documenting my progress as I try to make amends with my angry insides.

Leave a Reply

