Needs Improvement

I think it’s going to be a while before I eat another chickpea. 

Before I explain, let me backtrack a little. 

This afternoon I was exploring recipes involving spiralized zucchini (aka spaghetti made from zucchini). I had some meal ideas and was full of enthusiasm – and I wanted to try it right away. I knew I had a few hours off work tonight, so I made a mental list of next steps: 

  1. Buy a spiralizer
  2. Buy zucchini
  3. Get home and make the meal
  4. Enjoy meal
  5. Relax, maybe reunite with my DVR
  6. Return to work for evening event

I was still into this idea until I got in the car and then sat in traffic. It dawned on me that it’s the first week back to school and everyone is still adjusting to non-summer rush hour. Hmmm. 

I imagined going to the store to buy the spiralizer, then going to another store to buy produce. I imagined the lines and the parking lots. I suddenly starting to think today was not the day for zucchini shaped like zucchini. 

My new list:

  1. Make simple dinner
  2. Reunite with my DVR
  3. Return to work for evening event

But I still felt the need to try something different. 

I remembered the recipe from the Oh She Glows book for Salt & Vinegar Chickpeas. Brilliant! I can have a snack reminiscent of my go-to salty snack. I have had these once before when my friend Meghan came to visit and she made them for me. This would be my first attempt, but I felt confident. 

I set to work and soon the chickpeas were in the oven, and I caught up on some tv. 

Before I knew it, I was enjoying some delicious, toasty salt and vinegar chickpeas in front of the tv. And, before I knew it, I was seeing the bottom of the bowl. Yes, I will admit it – I ate ALL the chickpeas. How many, you wonder? Ummm, the whole can. The entire 19 oz can of chickpeas was now in my belly before my brain could even process it. Well, to be fair, I did eat the last few after processing this upsetting fact, but it seemed rude to the few leftovers to simply pass them up. 

This little incident reminded me that while I am, in fact, doing quite well on most of my challenge, there is one area that really needs improvement: eat at a table. 

It’s on my list, and I genuinely think it’s a great idea. But as far as these past few days are concerned, I’m falling far behind. Yes, I have been working a lot, and sometimes it’s not realistic or feasible to sit down. For example, last night I had presentations from 4:30 to 6:15PM and had another talk at an event from 6:30-9:30PM. That meant drinking a smoothie while standing. 

Regardless of the circumstances, I know I wouldn’t have eaten a full can of chickpeas had I been sitting at a table without the distraction of the tv. And although I likely won’t eat them again in the foreseeable future, it was a strong reminder of why it’s not just what I eat, but also how I eat. 

One thought on “Needs Improvement

Leave a Reply

