My Epic Sunday

In addition to starting an herb garden, I accomplished a few other things on Sunday that I wanted to share. 

Zucchini Pasta

On Sunday morning, I bought a spiralizer. There are some variations, but I went with a basic handheld one. Once home, I made a zucchini pasta with a homemade blush sauce made from: fresh cherry tomatoes, fresh basil, garlic, and cashew cream (soaked cashews blended with equal parts water). I sauteed the “pasta” in extra-virgin olive oil, then added the blush sauce. It was delicious. 

Whole Roasted Chicken

I roasted a whole chicken with the help of the fresh rosemary, thyme and sage from Ross and Steph’s garden. To be fair, I have done this one other time after I received Pampered Chef Stoneware for Christmas a few years ago. [Side note: the website allows you to search recipes using the specific stoneware you have, which is a nice touch]. 

The decision to make a full chicken was based on the principle that I could have leftovers throughout the week to make my meal prep and lunches much easier. My assessment is that it is a commitment but is useful. I intend on continuing this endeavour on weekends when I have the time available. And, I learned it’s important to start earlier as dinner was ready at 9pm on a Sunday night. 

Homemade Granola

I was thinking recently of cereal and how it’s so easy – great for a snack. But, store-bought cereal is a no-go, so I looked online for some granola inspiration. There were many recipes and variations, but the basic concept seemed easy enough, so I gave it a shot while the chicken was roasting. I mixed oats, almonds, flax seeds, pumpkin seeds, coconut, sunflower seeds, chia seeds, and cacao nibs with a wet mix of coconut oil and maple syrup. Toasted for 20 minutes, stirring mid-way. So easy. So good. Granola2Quinoa Kale Grilled Veggie Salad

In addition to wanting chicken for later in the week, I also made a big batch of quinoa, kale, veggie salad from the book Joyous Health. Last time I made this I accidentally burned the quinoa, so I took extra care this time. 

Dairy-free Caesar Dressing

I learned how to make an almond-based dairy-free caesar dressing a few months ago, and haven’t made it much since then as it takes time to soak the almonds. Every time I would find myself thinking about making it, I realized there wasn’t enough time to properly soak the almonds. Since I wanted to match a batch for the week, I decided to soak almonds all day on Sunday. And by Sunday evening – I had a jar of caesar dressing!

 

I think it’s fair to say I made the most of my first day off work in two weeks. 

Leave a Reply

