My Sweet Tooth

I appear to have a more pronounced sweet tooth as of late. I’m trying to figure out why, and while I cannot be completely sure, I believe it may have something to do with my homemade desserts.

Making sweet treats at home has been surprisingly simple, and the results have been delicious. This reinforces my desire for more tasty food – especially the sweet stuff.

Now, I recognize that it is not a good idea for me to make a big batch of something sweet without a reason to share. This is especially true when something is freshly baked and warm. And though I know there are people who can store away baked goods and snacks that last a while, I am not one of those people. Those people have super-human strength.

So, I was happy to try a treat suggested by my friend Charissa. Right after she learned of my challenge, she offered a few simple recipes she’s tried and enjoyed. One stuck out, which was banana chocolate “ice cream”, and it’s very simple. Frozen banana mashed with cocoa powder.

I also just happened to have a yonanas machine – a gift from my brother and sister-in-law so I could make fruit-based soft-serve with no dairy. I’ve used it in the past, but this time I was more excited since I would be turning it into chocolate soft-serve.

My first attempt was good, though I think I over did the cocoa powder since it was a little bitter. A few days later I tried again. You may think I decreased the amount of cocoa powder, but instead I actually kept it the same and added a pinch of honey. Yum. The only problem was that I let the banana thaw too much before making it.

I will continue to play around with this dessert as it’s perfectly portioned and there are many possibilities.

Leave a Reply

