The Elimination Diet

Well folks, it’s happening. I finally received some professional support and will be embarking on a 4-week elimination diet to find the trigger of my discomfort. It’s been 5 weeks since I started this challenge, and I really thought I would have felt better by now. So, in the interest of getting to the bottom of my digestive distress, I will gladly take on this additional challenge.

After spending time going over the problem and reviewing what is needed to find my trigger(s), something that stuck out for me was the idea of taking it easy on my system. Instead of thinking of this process as some form of cruel and unusual punishment, I’m opting to think of it as giving my insides a rest for the next four weeks. A little TLC for my GI system.

Like when I started this challenge, a few thoughts have been going through my head:

  • Wow, this is going to be difficult
  • It’s okay because I’ll start to feel better
  • This is going to take a lot of planning
  • I think I’m going to get sick of chicken

If you are curious what I can and cannot have, it’s mainly eliminating common allergens, processed foods, and foods that cause digestive issues. For example, no dairy, soy, peanuts, corn, gluten, eggs, red meat, pork, oats, butter, margarine, refined sugar, ketchup, bbq sauce, etc.

The list of foods I can eat is still substantial, and seeing as I’ve already been paying a lot of attention to what I eat, the increase in effort required should be marginal. My two sweeteners are out, though. No more honey or maple syrup for a while. Luckily, my dairy-free, organic chocolate chips have been approved!

At the end of the four weeks, I’ll be re-introducing some of the restricted foods to see how I respond and, hopefully, identify the culprit. It’s also possible my system simply needs a reset so the good bacteria can rebuild and do their job properly. Growing up, I took so many courses of antibiotics for tonsilitis or strep that I became resistant to penicillin and needed to start taking what I referred to as horse pills. I genuinely cannot remember what the drug was called because I literally only ever called them horse pills. Though I haven’t had nearly as many antibiotics in the past 10 years or so, I’m not sure my system has ever had a break. One might say it’s about time.

So, for the next four weeks, I have a new challenge – how not to get bored of chicken.

3 thoughts on “The Elimination Diet

Leave a Reply

