Further Detective Work Required

Two days from now was supposed to mark the end of my 4-week elimination diet and the start of the re-introduction phase. I say supposed to, since that doesn’t seem to be the case anymore. In spite of restricting my food intake and avoiding all the common allergens/sensitivities, I have yet to feel the relief typically experienced by now.

I spoke with a co-worker who did a similar process, and she explained that although she was hungry more often, she felt great. For me, I’ve had days that have been better, but I don’t feel great. And I continue to have discomfort and bloating.

So, it wouldn’t make sense to re-introduce foods just yet.

Needless to say, this is extremely frustrating for me. I’ve noticed at times I’m losing steam. I haven’t eaten any restricted foods (I’m proud to say), but I lack the energy I had earlier in the process, and it’s feeling increasingly more challenging to make the meals and prep my snacks. I have been less experimental with recipes, and I default to quick, easy meals – often repeating the same ones.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not about to quit or give up on this. I know I’ve come a long way, and I’m still committed to feeling better, even if it means taking extra time or making other changes. I’d rather take the time needed now in the interest of a healthier future – but right now, I’m just feeling a little impatient.

One thought on “Further Detective Work Required

  1. Catherine with little relief insight from this elimination diet have you considered contacting your Doctor to discuss this discomfort. I do not want to alarm you but it maybe something related to your small and large intestine and getting that checked out might be a good idea.

    Like

Leave a Reply

