Spring Clean-Up

Since my last post in December, I travelled across the globe for a month and then spent 3 months eating with reckless abandon.

Can you say bad idea?

I don’t regret how I ate in Australia and New Zealand. For the most part, I still managed to keep some good habits, and we even made many of our own meals (somewhat a must due to the cost of dining out in those countries). I found some great smoothie shops and managed to get a good does of greens in each one. I did, however, make-up for 100 days free of donuts.

I sought out specialty donut shops and bakeries known for their donuts. Ironically, the ones I enjoyed the most were the cheap jam-filled donuts in Melbourne’s CBD. When we mentioned this to a local, they laughed since those are known as “post-bar food” – in other words, the opposite of a specialty donut shop.  After a week of many donuts, I did stop for the rest of the trip and tried to mix it up a bit more when it came to desserts. (We also went through a Tim-Tam phase).

Upon our return to a Canadian winter, I struggled to get back to pre-trip habits, like planning and making meals. It sounds like an excuse, but the short days when you leave work in the dark just drained my energy and any semblance of motivation.

Then, my back happened. Over the course of weeks, I managed to develop a bulging disc. I just didn’t know it until it landed me on the floor in tears. Let’s just say the focus was on anything but meal planning.

I’ve now been in physio for about eight weeks, and I’m slowly getting better. I still have a ways to go, but I feel well enough to start focusing on other things in my life. Namely, my eating.

The days are longer, the weather is nicer (finally), and I’m feeling motivated to start cleaning up my eating. It’s starting with a 12-day cleanse, which is somewhat similar to my old elimination diet. It’s a food-based cleanse focused on whole foods and lots of hydration. The main draw for me is the elimination of sugar, which is a welcome change. I managed to convince a few co-workers to join in, so I now have others with which to commiserate.

Since the blog kept me on-point during the fall, I thought it would be worth re-starting the blog for my spring clean-up.

Leave a Reply

