Weekend Away

This past weekend I was out of town. It was not the first time I have travelled while completing an elimination diet, but it was the first time I had flown.

Since the first flight was over the dinner hour, I needed to eat something, but I didn’t have time to prepare anything in advance. This meant searching for something I could eat at the airport. Based on the list of places, it was looking slim, but I remembered one place that usually has fresh and healthy options.

I found a salad bar, and while it had been pretty picked over, it was still sufficient for me to keep my hunger at bay. Here’s what I had:

20160826_172747

Yes, 2 hard boiled eggs and a handful of blueberries.

It was quick, I could use my hands, and the blueberries were actually quite delicious.

My weekend away went well because I have supportive family and friends. It was a little hard to watch my friends eat some of the best donuts in town. Literally, there were three dozen gourmet donuts, and people would swoon after a bite. But, the decision was easy. I would stay the course. There will always be donuts. And should I want one later, I will decide then if it’s worth it. Until that point, I’m focused on my health.

Leave a Reply

