The Instant Pot

I wanted to write a post about my Instant Pot. It’s an electric pressure cooker, and I love it. I’ve had it since last fall, and it’s in regular rotation. It’s the kitchen tool I gush about to whoever is willing to listen. Or, at least they nod along – hearing a person ramble on about their love for an electric pressure cooker is not for everyone. I learned about it from NomNomPaleo as the author is a huge fan and even has a summary of her favourite recipes.

20160831_121055This is my Instant Pot. It is a pressure cooker, slow cooker, rice maker, and it steams and sautés. Some versions can make yogurt, but I didn’t need that function.

My main uses:

  • Broth – I use the leftover bones from roasted chickens or chicken legs to make homemade bone broth in 2 hours as opposed to 6-8 hours in a slow cooker.
  • Spaghetti Squash – Instead of roasting a spaghetti squash for 40-50 minutes in the oven, I can steam the squash in under 15 minutes.
  • Soups – I have another slow cooker, which is really wide so great for large cuts meat, but I prefer the Instant Pot for slow cooking soups because of the cylindrical shape of the stainless steel pot.
  • Dinners – My two go-to recipes are Mexican beef and buffalo chicken. Both only take about 10 minutes to prep, then I start the pressure cooking and walk away while it works its magic.

Since I made my buffalo chicken recently, I thought I would share how easy it is.

I bought 4 chicken thighs and some pre-washed leafy greens. First, I make the buffalo sauce in the Instant Pot on sauté mode with the lid off.

2016-09-03 12.11.28

I added 1/2 c hot sauce, ~1/4 c ghee, ~1/4 c coconut oil, 1 minced garlic clove, 1 tbps cider vinegar. Once they are all mixed, I turn off the sauté mode and add the chicken.

2016-09-03 12.50.36

Then, I just push the poultry button, which is automatically set for 15 minutes. You can adjust the timer down for smaller pieces or up for bone-in pieces. When it’s getting close to being done, I make some salad dressing (either a vinaigrette or ranch). Once the chicken is done, I can enjoy a buffalo chicken salad and have the other half for leftovers. Note: I don’t have photos of the finished project because I was too excited and started eating it before remembering to take a photo. Whoops!

One other thing I really like about the Instant Pot is that it’s Canadian. And you probably won’t find it in regular stores. In Canada, you can find it in Showcase stores (the As Seen on TV stores) or buy it online. I got mine last year in a Showcase store for $109. Pretty good deal considering the use I get out of it.

Leave a Reply

