Hating Graves’ Right Now

When I started to post about my Whole45, I imagined sharing details about the experience, like dealing with dining out, trying new foods and recipes, and how I’m feeling overall. Having done two prior Whole30’s, I knew what to expect, and after the initial week or two, the positive benefits.

This time around has been so completely different because of my recent diagnosis. Graves’ disease is really cramping my style.

Earlier this week was a struggle with dropping energy levels. On Thursday, I finally had a good day without feeling an energy crash. I was pleased. Then Friday, my energy levels still doing alright, my heart decided it wanted to try something different. Around 3:30pm, I started noticing brief intervals of heart palpitations.

My Samsung phone has a heart rate monitor on the back and allows me to track measure my heart rate on demand. So, I checked, and yes, it was high (~150). Within a minute, it was back down (~50). This has happened before, so I wasn’t all that thrown off. However, this continued on and off for a couple of hours. This was all while working at my desk. I wasn’t moving, walking, or getting up and down. Just working on my computer.

The rest of the evening was pretty uneventful, and I had enough energy to go for a walk later. I know heart palpitations are a symptom of Graves’, so I’m not worried. I’m mostly just irritated. I know the medication I’m taking takes a few weeks to make changes, so I’m trying to be patient. I get my blood work done in a few weeks and that will inform how I’m reacting.

I’ve been pretty positive since being diagnosed in June, and as much as I want to continue that sentiment and keep perspective, it would be insincere to pretend I’m not frustrated. So, I’ve decided to let myself feel frustrated and express this frustration. In the meantime, I am trying to treat myself with grace. I won’t beat myself up if I’m not as productive as I would like. If I need to nap, I’ll nap. However, I am still choosing to make good food decisions. Something I can say with confidence is that my insides have not been angry for the past few weeks. And that is something I can feel good about.

Leave a Reply

