Less Than Ideal Timing

On Sunday evening, I deleted all my social media apps from my phone. It felt strange, but also refreshing. I say refreshing because not having the apps on the phone meant I was truly committing to trying this thing out – for real. Also refreshing because for a couple of the apps, I knew that I was unlikely to reinstall them after the two weeks are done.

Since deciding to try this program out, an immediate consequence is, well, consciousness.

You are suddenly very aware of how you use your device. You notice how many times you are reaching for your phone. You notice when you have scrolled over the same content. It becomes obvious how the phone is a crutch when waiting in line or when there is silence. Then there is the feeling you get when you do check your phone and see that, no, nothing has changed.

So after learning all of these insights over the first couple of weeks, I was feeling ready to move onto phase 2. The apps were deleted. The TV was off. I was armed with a good book. Heck, I was even out of town for a conference so was even in a new environment. Perfect!

Not quite.

Day 1 of Less Media started off with an ironic twist. The opening speaker of the conference asked who has twitter. I didn’t raise my hand. Then he told everyone who doesn’t have twitter to look to their friends with hands raised so they could teach us lowly ingrates how to download it. Um, no. Then I learned that multiple times throughout the conference, there would be twitter contests! Ugh.

Then, I got sick.

It meant skipping the reception and dinners with conference attendees. It meant a lot of time alone in my hotel room, feeling lousy. In other words, it’s when you want to watch TV or a movie. Just curl up and zone out. Hmm.

I managed to get some good sleep and was able to attend the rest of the conference and even felt alright travelling back home. But I think my body knew when I was home because that’s when the cold really decided to settle in.

And now all I want to do is curl up on my couch and watch Netflix.

Instead, I just nap and read*. And don’t get me wrong, I love reading. And finishing a book every day three days in a row does provide some sense of accomplishment, but it would be nice to mix it up a bit.

My initial vision for this phase was complete with evening walks, projects around the house, some long-overdue sewing projects, and social interaction. Instead, my interaction involves a couple of boxes of kleenex and my pillow.

All this to say, this sure is some less than ideal timing.

*Yesterday I finished the book Love Warrior, a memoir by Glennon Doyle Melton, and it was excellent. I highly recommend this book. It is one of the most honest, raw and insightful books I have ever read. 

 

 

One thought on “Less Than Ideal Timing

  1. Catherine I commend you for taking on this initiative. I look forward to seeing you on Saturday evening so we can discuss further. As someone who now owns an I-phone I understand how one can become very dependent upon such devices including the TV. I guess what I am learning as a Senior is the value and benefits of such devices but at the same time I also have to remember to bring my phone with me every time I leave the house. What I do realize by being connected is the benefits but I also like the freedom of just leaving the phone behind!! Now TV is a different story which I feel I would have difficulty being without for extended periods of time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

